Posted Thu May 15, 1998 by Judge Dredd
The Tremere rituals Engaging the Vessel of Transference and Principle Focus of Vitae Infusion cannot be combined together on an object in an attempt to use a smaller item than normal for the Transference. If an object so enchanted were used, the blood in the container would be transferred to the other person as normal but the blood being taken FROM the person would spill out of whatever the object is if the object wasn't big enough to hold 1 whole BP.
For example, a pearl earring is enchanted with both Rituals. The pearl is then given to a Garou as a 'present'. When the Garou accepts the pearl, the caster's 1 BP that is in the pearl would be transferred to the Garou. But, then a BP of the Garou would try to transfer to the pearl and very quickly begin spilling all over the ground in an icky mess. The Garou would then probably blender the offering Tremere. However, if the Tremere had used a jewelry box and given it to the Garou the transfer would have worked normally...although he still might have ended up blendered by the Garou.
Back to the Tremere Ritual index
Posted Mon Jul 7, 1998 by Chimera
Each IC month, the Tremere can attempt to make Splinter Servants by searching for the proper elements around the city. The roll is Intelligence + Occult at difficulty 8. Each success means that 1 servant is constructed that month, and a botch means that the Tremere can no longer find the resources in the city and must go to another area to search in the future.
When used to attack an enemy, the Splinter Servant will home in on the target for up to 40 turns (if not destroyed by that point, it will break apart and die). As it is a Level 4 Ritual, the Splinter Servant is considered to score 4 successes on any action it takes--initiative, chasing down the target, attacking the target, or inflicting damage. Only the victim makes rolls. For example, the Tremere secretly releases a Splinter Servant at his enemy across the street. The Splinter Servant automatically scores 4 successes on its surprise. If the enemy tries to outrun it, the Servant automatically scores 4 successes on the chasing roll (while the enemy must roll Dex + Athletics). If the Servant closes the distance and attacks, it automatically scores 4 successes on the attack roll (but the target can attempt to dodge). If the target does not successfully dodge the Servant's attack, the Servant will automatically inflict 4 points of damage (non-aggravated and can be soaked). If the Splinter hits and the target loses at least 1 Health Level, then the Servant remains inside the body and continues to bore towards the victim's heart--no longer can it be dodged, and it continues to inflict the 4 points of damage every round. If on any round the Servant inflicts 3 or more Health Levels on the target, then the victim is staked and immobilized.
The Servant can be destroyed. It does not dodge and it only has 1 Health Level, but because it is wooden and so small it automatically soaks 4 levels from any attack (except fire, which it cannot soak). Also, once the Servant bores into the body it can no longer be attacked until the target pulls it out first by scoring at least 4 successes on a Strength roll (plus Potence). The Servant only gets ONE action per turn (one movement or one attack).
*Repost of Coriolanus' post*
Back to the Tremere Ritual index
Posted Tue Feb 24, 1998 by Judge Dredd
All Thaumaturgical rituals (unless mentioned in the ritual description) have a casting time of 5 minutes per level of the ritual. The description text can modify this up or down but if there is no mention it will be as mentioned above...5 min/level. Period.
Back to the Tremere Ritual index
Posted Tue Feb 24, 1998 by Judge Dredd
Neither Thaumaturgy 1 nor the ritual 'Blood Walk' will inherently determine Clan. Thaumaturgy 1 will determine: if the person is mortal or Kindred, how recently they've fed and the approximate generation but not Clan. Blood Walk will determine: who you are Blood Bound to, who is Blood Bound to you, your True Name, some personality info and who your Sire was (and back in the lineage, depending on succs). But not Clan, inherently. If the Ritualist is able to get enough successes to take it back to the victim's Antedeluvian (or to another Elder the Ritualist is familar with whose Clan is known) THEN it can be determined, but not directly by the Ritual.
Back to the Tremere Ritual index
Posted Wed Mar 25, 1998 by Judge Dredd
The WW rules are very vague with regard to Tremere Rituals. The only real hard and fast rule is the time they take to cast (which has been mentioned in a previous post). One thing never touched on is how MUCH magic can be active at any one time. Despite the rules not strictly saying anything about it, we've allowed the 'hanging' of spells...pre-casting instant or near-instant spells such that they are available to be used quickly at a later time (such as Steps of the Terrified or Mirror Walk). However, keeping these spells hanging is not easy.
There will be a limit on how many spells can be kept hanging of the ritualist's Intelligence. Further rituals cast will either fail or replace ones already hung. The caster will also have to keep concentrating on them at least a little until they are released. Every hour the spells are held or any lapse in concentration, which can be caused by outside forces, will require a Wits roll difficulty 6 (subject to ST modification) to keep them up. A number of successes equal to the number of spells hung is needed to keep them all up...fewer indicates some of the spells have faded away. A failure on this roll means all of the spells have been lost while a botch means the magic backlashes against the caster in nasty ways. Hanging spells should not be taken lightly... All hung spells automatically drop if consciousness is lost (either through Incapacitation or falling asleep).
NOTE: This does NOT in any way affect spells that have a long duration as part of their effect. Such spells are not 'hanging' they have actually been cast and released into the world. 'Hanging' spells are uncast, waiting for a final signal. Spells such as 'Pavis of Foul Presence' or 'Donning the Mask of Shadows' would not count towards the limit.
Back to the Tremere Ritual index